German

Federal Waterways Engineering and Research Institute

Hamburg Office

The Federal Waterways Engineering and Research Institute (BAW) is the technical and scientific authority of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI). It is the central provider of consultancy and expert opinion services to the BMVI and the Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration (WSV) relating to their waterways engineering tasks and in particular concerning their construction supervision responsibility for ensuring that all federal waterway structures and facilities comply with safety and other regulations.

Through its work in Karlsruhe and Hamburg, the BAW is helping to ensure that the waterways in Germany meet the growing technical, economic and ecological requirements. BAW has extensive expertise and experience in the field of waterways engineering and is involved in the ongoing development of this discipline, also in research projects of various kinds.

German Coastal Engineering Research Council

KFKI

The BAW in Hamburg houses the office and the library of the German Coastal Engineering Research Council (KFKI), which was founded in 1973 as a joint institution of the Federation and the German coastal states. Its projects are financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The homepage of this administrative federal/state agreement provides a platform for authorities and research institutions from the German coastal zone, which offers search options for information and data related to coastal projects by using metadata.

Marine Data Infrastructure for Germany

KFKI

BAW Hamburg and the Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (BSH) are responsible for the management of the Marine Data Infrastructure for Germany (MDI-DE). This infrastructure was funded by the BMBF in 2010-2013 and is implemented by a total of 11 federal and state authorities. Since April 2014, the MDI-DE has been permanently established and is further developed under the umbrella of the administrative agreement on cooperation in the conception and development of software for environmental information systems (VKoopUIS).

Using metadata and web services, the search and use of data and information from coastal engineering, coastal water protection, marine environmental protection and marine nature conservation are supported via a common Internet portal. The MDI-DE helps the authorities in the coastal zone to fulfill their reporting obligations for EU framework directives such as the Marine Strategy (MSF) and the Infrastructure for Spatial Information in the European Community (INSPIRE).

Last updated on 09.08.2017

English

Bundesanstalt für Wasserbau

Dienststelle Hamburg

Die Bundesanstalt für Wasserbau (BAW) ist die technisch-wissenschaftliche Bundesoberbehörde im Geschäftsbereich des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI). Sie ist der zentrale Dienstleister für die Beratung und Unterstützung des Ministeriums und der Wasser- und Schifffahrtsverwaltung des Bundes (WSV) im Rahmen ihrer verkehrswasserbaulichen Aufgaben, insbesondere deren bauaufsichtliche Verantwortung dafür, dass alle Anlagen und Einrichtungen der Bundeswasserstraßen den Anforderungen von Sicherheit und Ordnung genügen.

Die BAW trägt mit ihrer Arbeit in den Dienststellen Karlsruhe und Hamburg wesentlich dazu bei, dass die Wasserstraßen in Deutschland den wachsenden technischen, wirtschaftlichen und ökologischen Anforderungen gerecht werden. Sie verfügt dazu über eine umfassende Kompetenz und Erfahrung auf dem Gebiet des Verkehrswasserbaus und ist maßgeblich an der Weiterentwicklung dieser Disziplin beteiligt, auch in Forschungsprojekten verschiedenster Art.

Kuratorium für Forschung im Küsteningenieurwesen

KFKI

Die BAW in Hamburg beherbergt die Geschäftsstelle und die Bibliothek des 1973 als gemeinsame Einrichtung des Bundes und der deutschen Küstenländer gegründeten Kuratoriums für Forschung im Küsteningenieurwesen (KFKI). Seine Projekte werden vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanziert. Die Homepage dieser Bund-Länder-Vereinbarung stellt eine Plattform für Behörden und Forschungseinrichtungen aus der deutschen Küstenzone bereit, die eine Recherche nach Informationen und Daten aus Küsten-Projekten mithilfe von Metadaten anbietet.

Marine Daten-Infrastruktur für Deutschland

KFKI

Die BAW Hamburg stellt zusammen mit dem Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH) die Leitung der Marinen Daten-Infrastruktur für Deutschland (MDI-DE). Deren Aufbau wurde 2010-2013 vom BMBF gefördert und von insgesamt 11 Bundes- und Landesbehörden durchgeführt. Seit April 2014 wird die MDI-DE dauerhaft unter dem Dach der Verwaltungsvereinbarung über die Kooperation bei der Konzeption und Entwicklung von Software für Umweltinformationssysteme (VKoopUIS) geführt und weiterentwickelt.

Mithilfe von Metadaten und Webservices werden die Suche und Nutzung von Daten und Informationen aus dem Küsteningenieurwesen, dem Küstengewässerschutz, dem Meeresumweltschutz und dem Meeresnaturschutz über ein gemeinsames Internetportal unterstützt. Die MDI-DE hilft den Behörden in der Küstenzone bei der Erfüllung ihrer Berichtspflichten für EU-Rahmenrichtlinien wie die Meeresstrategie (MSRL) und die gemeinsame Geodateninfrastruktur in Europa (INSPIRE).

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 01.08.2017