German

Geodetic Institute
RWTH Aachen University

The Geodetic Institute and Chair for Computing in Civil Engineering & Geo Information Systems (gia) with its director Professor Jörg Blankenbach is part of the Faculty of Civil Engineering of the RWTH Aachen University.

gia has longstanding experience in spatial data processing and spatial software engineering e.g. “ storage, actualization and presentation of cadastral data”. Various research projects are carried out dealing with modelling and management of heterogeneous spatial-temporal data in geo data bases as well as the implementation of spatial data infrastructures and distributed geo information systems. Other current research projects investigate indoor location systems (e.g. using ultra-wide band systems, artificially generated magnetic fields or smartphone sensors) as well as virtual building model with CityGML and BIM. Automatic photogrammetric analysis of images and laser scanning data are used to enhance the digital reconstruction of buildings and the derivation of digital building models. Furthermore, geo sensor networks and geodetic surveying techniques (e.g. GPS) for data aquisition are developed and used.

In the research project “EarlyDike” gia is responsible for the implementation of a sensor and spatial data infrastructure to facilitate a real-time monitoring of sea dikes (WP 5). One task is to setup a geo portal which provides access to all distributed sources of geo data and to the results of the simulations implemented in the project.

gia1.png
Bild: Scanner + Drone

gia2.png
Bild: Distributed GIS

Last updated on 01.08.2017

English

Geodätisches Institut
RWTH Aachen University

Das Geodätische Institut und Lehrstuhl für Bauinformatik & Geoinformationssysteme (gia) mit seinem Leiter Professor Jörg Blankenbach ist Teil der Fakultät Bauingenieurwesen der RWTH Aachen University.

Das gia hat langjährige Erfahrung in der Verarbeitung von Geodaten und Entwicklung von Software für raumbezogene Fragestellungen z.B. zur Haltung bzw. Fortführung von Katasterdaten. Diverse Forschungsprojekte beinhalten die Modellierung und das Management heterogener spatio-temporaler Daten in Geodatenbanksystemen sowie den Aufbau von Geodateninfrastrukturen und (verteilten) Geoinformationssystemen. Weitere aktuelle Forschungsprojekte beschäftigen sich mit indoor Lokalisierungssystemen auf der Basis verschiedener Technologien (z.B. breitbandiger Funksysteme, künstlich erzeugter Magnetfelder oder Smartphone-Sensorik) sowie virtuellen Bauwerksmodellen (CityGML, BIM). Automatisierte photogrammetrische Auswertungen von Bild- und Laserscannerdaten dienen der digitalen Rekonstruktion von Bauwerken und der Ableitung digitaler Bauwerksmodelle. Des Weiteren werden Geosensornetzwerke und ingenieurgeodätische Messverfahren (z.B. GPS) zur Datenerfassung entwickelt und verwendet.

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes EarlyDike ist das gia verantwortlich für die Implementierung einer Sensor- und Geodateninfrastruktur zur Echtzeitüberwachung von Seedeichen (AP 5). Ein Bestandteil dessen ist die Umsetzung eines Geoportals, das den Zugang zu allen aus verteilten eigenen und externen Quellen herangezogenen Geodaten und den Zugang zu den Ergebnissen der im Projekt entwickelten Simulatoren ermöglichen soll.

gia1.png
Bild: Scanner + Drohne

gia2.png
Bild: Verteilte GIS

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 01.08.2017